Vs. KATIE STEWARD: BREAKDOWN 11.13.19

 

Montford Unit

Lubbock, TX.

One Week Ago

 

As he sat patiently on the chair, twirling his thumbs, the cold handcuffs and chains rest on his skin and lap, the bearded muscular man has already spent his 15th year of a twenty-year sentence for the murder of a young man in a bar fight. Some claim it was self-defense, others feel he intentionally killed that man. He was an Army Ranger, loved to play his guitar, a man who was in love with a girl who on that night needed some protection and it was he who went to jail for it.

His long brown hair hung down, blue eyes staring at the three-person parole board sitting in front of him. The man in the middle, was a former Judge, Frank Moss, next to him was a psychiatrist, Dr. Liz Pathos and former Warden, Jim Horne. The inmate’s eyes continued to glance across all three. It wasn’t his first Parole Meeting, it was his fourth, being turned down the last three, he was hoping today was the day. He wore a nice button up shirt, slacks and shoes. Judge Moss with his Texas twang read down a stack of papers, finally looking up at the man in cuffs.….

 

Judge Moss: “So let me get this right, for us to understand your situation better, fifteen years ago at the Hurricane Creek Saloon, you killed a man in self-defense?”

Man: “Yessir.”

 

He answered back in his southern accent…..

 

Warden Horne: “State your name for the record, son.”

Man: “Yessir, my name is Joseph Donald Booth, everyone calls me Joe Don.”

Warden Horne: “Joe Don, this is your fourth parole hearing the last three you were denied, why?”

Joe Don: “They feel I wasn’t ready to be out in society. I have to agree with them.”

Dr. Pathos: “Agree? Why?”

RachelCastPic-JoeDonJoe Don: “See ma’am, I did a terrible thing and took a young man’s life. For fifteen years I have had to live with that pain and guilt. I would like to give back to society for the time I spent in prison here. See Doctor, Judge, Warden, I came here when I was nineteen years old. I lost the best years of my life here but in doing so I learned to live with that guilt, it motivated me to become a better person. See, I still have the chance to live a long, healthy and productive life outside these walls. When I first came the Unit, I was scared, angry at the system and it was an emotion I needed to overcome before I could ever be released out into the free world again.”

 

The very calm and stoic Joe Don Booth keeps his composure and knows he is being evaluated as they speak. He tries to limit his movements and move natural….

 

Judge Moss: “Let me ask you something, if we were to release you out into society, what would be the first thing you would do?”

Joe Don: “I would eat a big plate of Texas BBQ sir.”

 

The Panel laughs some….

 

Joe Don: “And then, I would start with community service, find a place to live, dedicate my time to helping others so they do not make the same mistakes I do. Then after that, I would play music, it’s my passion, maybe find a local bar or venue where I can do that and entertain others.”

Dr. Pathos: “That sounds very productive.”

Joe Don: “Thank you Doctor. The way I see it, a man like myself put in a position like this and given a chance to rebuild and reclaim his life doesn’t come very often. I have spent more nights staring up at the ceiling wondering what is next for me that I forgot what sweet freedom tastes like. I think that I have paid my dues to society. Of course, we are never gonna get back the kid that I took his life, his family will miss him forever, I get that, but I want the chance to make it right. Besides, I have a special girl out there that I have kept in contact with this entire time and I would love to see her again.”

Warden Horne: “It is always nice to have family and friends waiting for you on the outside.”

Joe Don: “Well sir, my daddy died of a heart attack while I was in here, my momma moves out to the country, I want to go back home and take care of her and the farm. Maybe even get my job at the Lee Meat Packing Company.”

Judge Moss: “The Lee Meat Packing Company closed about ten years ago, son. Not much of the town is left, that was basically gone once the packing plant shut down but if you are paroled, there are plenty of places you can go and find work.”

 

Joe Don nodded, disappointed about the Packing Plant. He remembers as a young man the good times he had there, with her…..

 

Dr. Pathos: “I have one last question, Mr. Booth, what experience from here will you take with you stepping into a brand-new society fifteen years later where so much has changed?”

Joe Don: “Well Dr. Pathos, the one thing I will take back with me is the way of life I had to adjust too. We as inmates take freedom for granted and the simple things that we never know would miss? We miss the most. I won’t take that for granted again. I want to be a productive member of society and share my experiences with others.”

Dr. Pathos: “Thank you. I think that is all we have.”

Warden Horne: “We are going to discuss this a little further, we want to thank you for the honesty and for answering our question.”

Joe Don: Thank you Warden.”

Judge Moss: “Do you have any closing comments?”

Joe Don: “Just one, if you grant parole, I promise not to let you down and regret this decision. I have done my time, I would like now to start my life.”

 

Brushing his hair back, Joe Don Booth cracks a smile.

 

 

THE LONG ROAD BACK

CHAPTER IV

 

Under Attack proved once again that Rachel Tatum Lee was focused on one thing, proven everyone wrong, she wanted to show the entire roster and management that there was no ring rust and she was willing to do whatever to continue and climb the ranks until she was awarded a shot at the United States Championship. Rachel was a proven commodity; she had already shown a long time ago she could beat the best on the business. Rachel was back though and even though she was going through some personal issues, mostly emotional and financial, the fact remained that in the ring you couldn’t tell what was going on with her. Rachel was in the best shape of her life, she was levelheaded, using her wrestling prowess, Rachel had become the total package. That was not enough though. In the SCW her killer instinct, the rage she kept controlled, the tendencies and feelings he had bottled up were starting to spill over. It was no secret she took the divorce from Josh Hudson extremely hard, moving away from New York and farther away from her sister and family to Rachel seemed like the right thing to do. She was ready to start over, working at a BBQ joint as a server, all Rachel wanted was a life and to be normal again but when wrestling came back calling….

Everything once again changed for the Violent Kind.

Her emotions were starting to show. She chose Jake Starr for the past and what he did to her back in 2014. Rachel was having a really difficult time dealing with some of those sentiments, so she decided to take a long weekend and visit her father in the outskirts of Laredo, Texas. She hadn’t seen her two-year-old brother, Damien, after Mary Beth Mallory and Howard Lee both married and had a child, settling down. Howard hadn’t seen Rachel in over a year, as the Violent Kind was always caught up with something. This time she made sure to make the best of it.

 

Lee Home

Laredo, TX.

This Past Week

 

Stepping out of the shower, her feet with the matte grey painted nails walked swiftly across the hardwood floors leaving a wet trial behind. Rachel had her long-wet hair-soaking and dripping behind, only a towel covered her up. As she arrived at the door, Mary watched her, wearing jeans, a long sleeve blouse, sandals with her nails a glossy color, always looking devilish, eyebrow arched, Damien clinging to her leg….

 

RachelTatumLeeCastPic-MaryMary: “You left a flood on the floor.”

Rachel: “I am so sorry, Mary…. I will clean it up sugar, promise, it’s just so dang cold in here.”

Mary: “Do not worry, we will handle it. After you get dressed, I would like to talk to you.”

Rachel: “About what?”

Mary: “I know that we have had our past, I…. Damien, honey… Why don’t you run to poppa, he is in the study.”

Damien: “Okay mommy,”

 

The young child runs off as Mary makes her way into Rachel’s room closing the door…

 

Mary: “As I was saying, we have a checkered past, you barge into my house, beat me unconscious and then I show up at your house with a knife to your throat….”

RachelTatumLeeCastPic-1Rachel: “That was a long time ago, Mary.”

Mary: “It was, my point being it happened not too long before Jake Starr hog tied you and cost you the Elimination chamber match too. You didn’t forget that just like you haven’t forgotten us. See, Rachel I am a very attentive woman, I see everything and that in many ways bothers a tad only because your father is a very happy and proud man of his family. I don’t want to jeopardize that if we have a little rift and you are harboring feelings that one day, you’ll act on.”

Rachel: “That is not me anymore, Mary.”

Mary: “No?”

Rachel: “No, I have changed.”

Mary: “Have you, tell me something, be honest with me, if I yanked that towel from you right now what would be your first thought?”

 

Rachel’s face forms a scowl, she quickly catches herself doing so and Mary sees it, smirking and sitting on the bed….

 

Rachel: “Why are ya doin’ this ta me? Ya know damn well how hard I have been tryin’ ta work through this Mary. It’s tough because I am tired of feelin’ like a victim all the time. Josh made me feel that way and it sucks. I wanted ta live a new life, not worry about the bump and grind, trust will always be an issue fer me again. Now all I wanna do is survive the day, have a family life, be normal fer once in a long time. I never understood why poppa married ya.”

Mary: “I knew that was coming. We were married because we genuinely loved each other. Your father is a good man and honestly, I have my tendencies too, I just don’t hide them, let them roam free and try not to send myself in to a spiral of madness. I admire what you are doing, what I don’t agree with is the approach. The SCW is going to string you along., keep making RTL challenge this person and that person while Derek Adonis gets a United States Championship match….. and Gavin Taylor already has had two title matches in his first few months. You might want to think about your approach….”

 

Mary walks up to her and pulls her towel off, Rachel stands there naked staring up at the much taller, Mary Beth Mallory…

 

Mary: “…. And let the demons loose. I will see you downstairs for brunch my daughter.”


Rachel doesn’t say a word for after Mary leaves, she slowly bends over and grabs the towel. The beautiful cowgirl stares into the mirror, thinking that Mary is has a point, but Rachel made a promise to herself, she wasn’t; going to allow those cravings to come back, she couldn’t allow that. After a few moments, she dressed up in jeans, boots and a long form fitting black top, her hair in a ponytail, made up beautiful. She took a deep breath and walked downstairs, her father was sitting at the table with Damien, she smiled and sat next to them as Mary was finishing a few things in the kitchen…

 

RachelTatumLeeCastPic-HowardHoward: “Sleep well?”

Rachel: “Yeah, like a baby.”

Howard: “Well, I have a surprise for ya.”

Rachel: “A surprise? Poppa ya know I hate surprises.”

Howard: “Ya will like this one. How are things out there? I’m worried about ya.”

Rachel: “Poppa I’m fine, I’m wrasslin’ again, tourin’ the world, next week I’m goin’ ta London, I live on the beach, there are a bunch of friendly folks there, hell they give me free donuts almost every morning. I have a routine now, I was workin’ as a waiter in a BBQ place, made good money, if they are ever in a bind, I will pick up a shift here or there. I like it. I am happy where I am and I need ta remember that, ya know? I tried the marriages, I became somethin’ I ain’t proud of. Josh hurt me, I left him and now I have ta get over it or else I will drive myself nuts. I am happy though out in California; I have a good support system that keeps me intact.”

Howard: “That makes me happy to hear that. I wish that ya would come here more. I mean we hardly ever get the chance ta see ya. It would be good for Damien and ya. I know Mary would love ta have ya around too, it’s a win win for both of ya. I miss ya and Daisy, been a long time since we did anything together.”

Rachel: “Bill was still alive. It had been awhile.”

 

She looked down, thinking of Bill, missing him almost every waking moment of the day. He was her rock, always helped her whenever she needed it and right now, she needed it. Teetering back and forth from all her inhibitions was starting to take its toll on her confidence and soul, Wild Bill always had an answer for everything….

Rachel thinks back, to the last time she saw him alive…..

 

Two Years Ago

 

The older gentleman nod walks up to the two sleeping sisters, they were exhausted from all the training before they headed out to Japan. He brushes a strand of hair from Rachel’s face, slowly opening her eyes to see a familiar face, that being of Wild Bill Wayne….

 

Rachel: “Bill!?”

 

Daisy’s eyes shoot wide open, she sits up too and sees Bill standing there, taking off his white Stetson….

 

RachelTatumLeeCastPic-WildBillWild Bill: “Daisy…. Rachel…. Good ta see ya gals.”

Rachel: “What are ya doin’ here?”

Wild Bill: “Mary called me, she told me y’all visitin’ and well, I was ready ta throw my hat over the windmill and hallelujah the county when I found out ya two were here. I know it’s been tough fer ya two Rachel, but ya know I am always here.

Rachel: “I know Bill. I didn’t wanna bother ya and with us headin’ out ta Japan and finally getting along, I wanted it ta be a surprise. Daisy and I were thinking when we get back, we could have a proper party, hang out like old times.”

Wild Bill: “I would love that; I think that is one helluva an idea. Daisy? Are ya feelin’ better?”

Daisy: “I’m feelin’ myself and now that yer here, I’m feelin’ even better than better.”

 

She stands up and hugs Bill, kissing him on the cheek, her eyes tear up as does his, Rachel looks on and smiles…..

 

Wild Bill: “Daisy, oh my Daisy, always stunning gorgeous and hot as a stolen tamale.”

Daisy: “Ya never gave up on me Bill, I’ll never forget that. After the hell I put ya through, Rachel as well? I have had ta do a lot of soul searchin’ and it has been tough yet enlightening at the same time. .”

Wild Bill: “I would never give up on ya gals, yer like my kids, the daughter I never had. I tell Howie that all the time that ya two girls kept me young and on my damn feet.”

 

Rachel nods and stands up as well, Daisy kisses Bill on the cheek and smiles, she turns to Rachel and nods, before grabbing her shoes and walking inside….

 

RedRayneCastPic2Daisy: “I know Rachel wants ta talk ta ya and catch up, I’ll leave ya two alone.”

Rachel: “Thanks sugar.”

Wild Bill: “Alright but ya don’t have ta….”

Rachel: “Bill… listen….”

Wild Bill: “Rachel, none of this was ever yer fault. Ya dealt with it the best way ya could, I’ll never hold that against ya. People deal with trauma differently, ya did it in the ring, I’m sure that Wendell’s death didn’t help, Aiken just magnified the rage, now it’s more sustained, even Silas understood where its comin’ from.”

Rachel: “Silas was dirty….I seem ta be a walkin’ mistake, always doing stupid shit and never doin; anything right fer us. Either way, I screwed up, I should have told ya a long time ago how much I needed ya here, but I was afraid, scared of what ya and daddy would think of me. I also tried ta protect Daisy, I won’t ever let her go again, Bill… I won’t.”

Wild Bill: “I know. Rachel, Ya know how I always am, the kind of guy who one day makes fun of it all and the next? Well, I just go on and be all Texas philosophical. We came inta this business together and I watched ya battle some demons, ones that I didn’t even know ya were at war against. In the end though, ya won, that’s what counts. Ya just got caught in yer own loop.”

Rachel: “Nah, Bill…. I was damn dumb.”

Wild Bill: “Ya were a UWA World Champion, ya have yer sister back? Yer daddy, he’s happy with a child and Mary who maybe sadistic but damn she’s a good woman ta Howie.”

Rachel: “She is.”

Wild Bill: “Ya have a good husband in that Josh, fella that loves ya ta death, yer career has become everything that we imagined and more. Ya made it Rachel…. Now the truth is out and ya don’t have to keep that burden in ya eatin’ up yer soul. Ya can move on, be a Champion, the daughter, the sister, the wife I know ya were meant ta be. I’m so damn proud of ya.”

Rachel: “Thank ya Bill, I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t fer ya.”

Wild Bill: “Nah Rachel, ya would have been here regardless.”

 

Her eyes tear up as Bill hugs her tightly, he closes his eyes and doesn’t let go for a few moments. Finally the break the embrace and he brushes her hair back some…..

 

Wild Bill: “Now you go on, get ta Japan and watch yer sister, she needs ya and together ya two are unstoppable. Ya two will always be my daughters.”

Rachel: “I love ya Bill….”

Wild Bill: “I love ya too Rachel.”

 

She walks inside, leaving Bill alone for a moment as his lips start to quiver a little, wanting to tell the woman that he practically raised with Howard and brought back into wrestling that he didn’t have much time left, the cancer was aggressive and there was nothing he could do but what brought him joy more than anything was the unity the two Lee sisters showed, that was all he ever wanted….

To have his family back together again.

 

Present Time

Laredo TX.

 

It was the last time Rachel Tatum Lee saw Wild Bill alive. She remembers it like yesterday, twirling her fork around her eggs, seemingly lost in her own thoughts. Her father could see that she was thinking about Bill and it was tough for his daughter. He put his fork down and sighed, reaching over while Mary watched….

 

Howard: “I miss Bill too; he was like a father ta me. He can never be replaced but Rachel, he believed in ya and Daisy. That is what ya have to carry on and make sure that his name doesn’t live on in vain.”

Rachel: “What are ya sayin’? That I am gonna mess up or somethin’?”

Howard: “No… no Rachel….”

Rachel: “Excuse me, I need ta go outside and get some fresh air.”

 

She excuses herself from the table and walks out, Howard is trying to figure out what had just happened. Mary sits back and crosses her arms, tilts her head and purses her lips….

 

Howard: “What?”

Mary: “She is very fragile right now. Rachel needs to be Rachel and forget about these appearances that are going to make or break her. She doesn’t need to be told what to do, Howard, she needs to be shown and encouraged to do things instead of expected. I have been in her shoes and when the Dark-Half speaks and you don’t listen, it starts to scream and then you hear nothing but that. Rachel is on the brink; everything negative that has happened to her is boiling up to the surface. Wrestling will be able to control a little of that for now.”

Howard: “What do we do?”

Mary: “Do what you were going to do today, spend time with her, Howard, alone. She has rarely had any interaction with family and friends. Look at her, she drinks like a fish.”

Howard: “I know. Sorry about Brunch.”

Mary: “Don’t be sorry, I didn’t cook all of this food to be thrown away, I will stuff it down your throat if I must.”

 

Howard starts to laugh, knowing that she is not joking but with the grin she gave him, it was nice that She was trying to help Rachel best she could and not interfere in a day where Howard and Rachel needed to bond. She leaned in and kissed Howard….

 

Mary: “Go talk to her, then show her the surprise. I have Damien to feed, and we’ll go down to the lake.”

Howard: “Are you sure?”

Mary: “Yes, I am sure, now go.”

 

He stands up, Howard kisses Mary and walks out, she looks on with a smirk on her face, she knows that is what both of them need, it will help but deep inside Mary knows about what Rachel is feeling and for the Red Devil…. It consumed her.

Outside, Rachel is standing by the lake, throwing rocks and watching them skip across the water. Her father stands next to her and watches the ripples of the water…

 

Howard: “Yer mother and I use ta watch ya try that trick, skipping the rocks on the water. Yer momma thought , ya would become an expert quick, me on the other hand didn’t know if ya would ever get it right, ya proved me wrong. I remember that day, the sun was out, it was warm, yer momma wore that pretty little black dress, smelled like summer melon and lime. The flowers were blooming, we had ya and Daisy was just a baby. Yer momma would have been proud Rachel, she would be smiling right now ear ta ear at what her daughter had become.”

Rachel: “Ya really think so?”

Howard: “I do. I know it’s tough ta not revert back ta yer old ways, it works, ya know it. Listen ta me. Yer stronger than ya give yerself credit. Bill knew that, he talked about how you always doubted yer inner strength. It’s why we hide our hurt, with alcohol, drugs, sex, I have done it too.”

 

Rachel’s eyes start tearing up, and a few tears trickle down her cheek. She doesn’t wipe them, instead continues to look out at the water….

 

Rachel: “I wanna hurt people, so fuckin’ bad daddy. It scares the shit outta me. I think I am fallin’ in love with a woman, and that scares the shit outta me. I wanna be an SCW World Champion but I keep trying ta convince myself that I ain’t good enough, so I walk away and go put on apron and serve BBQ all day in Santa Monica because it is safe. I love ya so much daddy, I love Daisy, she’s happy with Dawn but even I know that evil in her, it lays dormant inside. One day its gonna come out again and then what? I am tryin’ ta make sense of everythin’ and I can’t. Part of me wants ta come home. I don’t know if I can daddy, they hate me here. They wanted ta hang me fer bein’ a witch.”

Howard: “That was some local town folk that left a long time ago. That is over now. Hurtin’ people can be a natural response from your anger, some ill sentiment carried over. Use that in the ring, that is why ya wrassle now again. Be vigilant though, because I know that ya wanna succeed the right way, no excuses.”

Rachel: “I don’t know if I can.”

Howard: “Rachel, we don’t pick and choose who we fall in love with, it happens, look at yer sister. She had men falling over themselves for her, now she is with another woman and broke every guys heart er in Texas. Bill is lookin’ at ya right now shaking his head and probably cocklin’ another of his famous sayings.”

Rachel: “Probably…. I could hear him now…. “Rachel…. Ya would charge hell with a bucket of ice water”…..”

 

They both start to laugh….

 

Howard: “He would… As for why I came out here? I wanted ta give ya the surprise.”

 

She slowly turned toward her father….

 

Rachel: “Surprise? What is it daddy?”

Howard: “Follow me.”

Rachel: “Okay.”

 

The two began to walk across the lake, there stood his old Meat Packing plant, the last time Rachel went inside it was infested with rats and hadn’t been used in ten years. She stops and looks around curiously….

 

Rachel: “Why are we here?”

Howard: “That’s the surprise.”

Rachel: “I don’t follow.”

Howard: “Come inside.”

 

He opens the door and turns on the light, Rachel looks around, the place had been gutted, cleaned and walls scrubbed. There was a bunch of new equipment around, she is in shock, didn’t know that her father was working on renovations for the Meat Packing Plant….

 

Rachel: “What is all of this?”

Howard: “I’m openin’ back for business.”

Rachel: “ya are?”

Howard: “Ya, I am. Doin’t things a little different, we are not slaughtering the animals here anymore, we are fabricating the meat and this time, we are also going to have a seafood department and a store right in the front with a fresh deli.”

Rachel: “Daddy! Really!? How did ya get the money fer it?”

Howard: “I saved some and Mary helped out a lot too. I’m excited and Rachel, I want ya ta run it.”

 

Her eyes widen, slowly turning to her father, this had absolutely shocked her and didn’t even see it coming. Rachel didn’t know how to respond. She paced a little, deep in thought, weighing out the pros and cons….

 

Rachel: “I…. I don’t know….”

Howard: “Rachel, ya don’t have to give me an answer right now, I just want ya to think about it, is all. I wanted ta plant that seed in yer head, give ya a chance to think things out.”

Rachel: “I appreciate that daddy, I really do. I just hope that I don’t disappoint ya either way. I need some time.”

Howard: “Ya have all the time in the world…..”

 

Something grabs Howard’s attention, then Rachel notices too as a cop car with hos lights flashing pulls up, the card shuts down as do the lights, the door opens, and it is Sheriff Austin Lee. He walks in and sees Howard, shakes his hand and then hugs him….

 

Howard: “Austin, long time no see cousin.”

Sheriff Austin: “Like wise. Rachel? Wow…. Been a while.”

Rachel: “It sure has sugar.”

 

Sheriff Austin and Rachel embrace….

 

Rachel: “What’s goin’ on?”

SundownCastPic-AustinSheriff Austin: “I went up ta the house, Mary told me ya two were here at the plant. I see things are comin’ along, the town is excited.”

Howard: “So are we.”

Sheriff Austin: “Anyway, Howie yer wife makes a helluva a cobbler son, it’s ta die for.”

Howard: “She’s a deceivingly good cook. So, what’s goin’ on cousin?”

Sheriff Austin: “Rachel, I’m glad yer here. A couple of days ago Joe Don Booth made parole.”

 

Rachel’s eyes widen….

 

Howard: “Parole? He had five years left on his sentence?”

Sheriff Austin: “Don’t matter, he convinced the board. I wanted ya both ta know.”

Rachel: “Where is he going?”

Sheriff Austin: “I have no clue Rachel but don’t worry, I’m on it and I will let ya guys know the more details I get.”

Howard: “Thank ya, I’ll walk ya to the car….”

 

As both men leave to the car outside, Rachel stands there, closing her eyes and concentrating on one thing, the release of Joe Don Booth. It was a long time she had heard of the name, but the minute it was mentioned, she knew that it meant trouble. Rachel didn’t need this, not right now, not after what Booth did fifteen years ago….

All because he loved Rachel.

She tried to get the thoughts out of her head, hoping that he was going to live his own life and be done forever….

Hopefully.

 

 

Montford Unit

Lubbock, TX.

One Week Ago

 

Sitting in his cell, Joe Don Booth sat on his bunk, leaning against the cement wall. The pictures on the wall were dated, there were newspaper clippings of the SCW from 2013 through 2015. His blue eyes fixed on the pictures. He starts to hum, tap on the steel frame of the bed. A stack of books sits on the floor, posters of Johnny Cash and other legendary posters. He thinks back at the time of the night It happened. He could see Jarrod’s face after he punched him so hard, driving his nose into his skull. With a huge sigh, he could see the fear and horror on her face, all before finally closing his eyes and clenching his fists.

It had been fifteen long years since he saw anything outside of a prison.

There is a noise, he turns and sees one of the guards there….

 

Guard: “Joe Don.”

Joe Don: “Yes, Officer Banks?”

Guard: “Grab yer things, ya have been granted parole boy.”

 

Joe Don’s eyes widen, slowly standing up, still not believing what he had heard, tilting his head and wondering if the guard was playing a trick on him. Joe Don walked right up to the cell, gripping the cell bars…..

 

Joe Don: “Please, say that again?”

Guard: “I said yer free, boy. The parole board decided in giving ya a chance ta live in the free world, yer good to go. Pack up yer shit, I will be back in ten minutes ta get ya outta that cell.”

Joe Don: “Yessir.”

 

As the Guard walks away, Joe Don smiles and closes his eyes, leaning against the bars. He takes a second to soak up the news and realize that he is finally a free man. Joe Don had been waiting for this day for a long time, slowly peeling off the pictures on the wall, the few little things he has left putting them in a box. There were letters, the stack he received and the stack to the woman of his dreams that all came back. She must’ve moved a long time ago, Joe Don accepted it but never did he think it would become real, the day finally was here……

After cleaning up his cell, the guard came back, he opened up the cell as Joe Don walked out and smiled. The guard starts to lead out Joe Don, the other inmates start to cheer, some yell and clap. Nothing was going to change the mood of this free man. As he arrived at the counter, he was given his possessions…..

 

Guard: “All yer books, ya don’t want them?”

Joe Don: “Nope, give them ta other people that need them more.”

Guard: “What about yer bible?”

Joe Don: “Already read it.”

Guard: “Alright, here is everything, go change.”

 

Joe Don takes his clothes with him, then goes and changes. After a few minutes he comes out in jeans, a leather jacket, boots and untucked flannel shirt. He then is handed his beauty, the guitar. He smiles, strums the cords a little….

 

Joe Don: “Still in tune.”

Guard: “Alright, sign a few things and we can get ya outta here.”

Joe Don: “Yessir, I would be happy to.”

 

As Joe Don signs the rest of his release papers, he is then escorted out of the prison. Walking through the fencing and into the yard, he could see the entrance right in front of him, it was the pathway to freedom for a man who lost fifteen years of his life, now at 33, he walks down a path of the unknow. With his small bag and guitar in tow, everything he owned is in that little satchel. They finally get to the gates, the officer on the other side opens it. Joe Don stops, looking over his shoulder at the prison….

 

RachelCastPic-JoeDonJoe Don: “She will always have a place in my heart.”

Guard: “Ya take care of yerself Joe Don, it’s rough and dangerous world out there, not what it used ta be.”

Joe Don: “Yeah, thanks Officer Banks, I’ll be alright.”

Guard: “Anyone pickin’ ya up?”

Joe Don: “Nah, I ain’t got nobody else.”

Guard: “What about yer momma?”

Joe Don: “She don’t wanna see me, she stopped talking me the day I came to jail. It’s alright, I need the exercise, I’ll walk.”

Guard: “It’s a long way ta the next town, I’ll have a unit drive ya.”

Joe Don: “Nah, you done enough. Take is officer, Godspeed, brother.”

 

The two shake hands, Joe Don nods and starts to walk out into the dirt roads that lead out of the Prison. It is a good 15 miles to the next town, Joe Don didn’t care, he was a free man. Sliding the hands into his pockets, Joe Don starts to whistle, Ring of fire, thinking about only one thing….

Her.

 

One Hour Later

 

It was hot, the desert was relentless. Dust kicking up each time a car passed by. Joe Don wasn’t fazed, instead he finally extended his hand and stuck up his thumb, maybe he would get lucky. After several tries, Joe Don was ready to give up, then a semi 18-wheeler pulled to the side of the road. Joe don ran up to the truck, opened the door to see an older burly man with a cap driving…

 

Truck Driver: “Where ya goin’ son?”

Joe Don: “California.”

Truck Driver: “Well, I ain’t goin’ all the way ta California, but I am goin’ ta Las Vegas, I can take ya far as there, that’s where this load is goin’ then headin’ up ta Colorado.”

Joe Don: “Vegas is fine, thank you.”

Truck Driver: “Hop on in.”

Joe Don: “Before I do, I just wanna tell you, I have no money and I just got out of jail, it’s just me, this little pouch of letter and pictures, and Mary Lou…. My guitar.”

 

The Truck driver nods….

 

Truck Driver: “Get in son, everyone needs a new start.”

Joe Don: “Thank you sir.”

 

He hops in the truck, putting his things behind the chair and getting comfortable. As the truck starts to move, he pulled out a picture from his pocket, it was one of Rachel Tatum Lee…

 

Joe Don: “Baby….. I’m coming home

 

 

SCENE FADES

 

 


 

THE GODDESS AND THE COWGIRL

 

 

The Scene Opens…

 

Hyde Park is a Grade I-listed major park in Central London. It is the largest of four Royal Parks that form a chain from the entrance of Kensington Palace through Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, via Hyde Park Corner and Green Park past the main entrance to Buckingham Palace. The park is divided by the serpentine Lake and Long Water lakes.

The park was established by Henry VIII in 1536 when he took the land from Westminster Abbey and used it as a hunting ground. It opened to the public in 1637 and quickly became popular, particularly for May Day parades. Major improvements occurred in the early 18th century under the direction of Caroline of Ansbach. Several duels took place in Hyde Park during this time, often involving members of the nobility. The Great Exhibition of 1851 was held in the park, for which The Crystal Palace designed by Joseph Paxton, was erected.

Free Speech and demonstration have been a key feature of Hyde Park since the 19th century. Speaker’s Corner has been established as a point of free speech and debate since 1872, while the Chartists the Reform League, the suffragettes and the 2003 Anti-War Protests have all held protests there. In the late 20th century, the park was known for holding large-scale free rock music concerts, featuring groups such as Pink Floyd, Rolling Stones and the band Queen. Major events in the park have continued into the 21st century, such as Live 8 in 2005, and the annual Hyde Park Winter Wonderland from 2007. Here is where we find the Cowgirl of the SCW, the woman known as the Violent Kind, Rachel Tatum Lee who after coming back in June at Taking Hold of the Flame and finishing runner up to Alistaire Allocco and being in that ring for over 70 minutes has shown that she hasn’t missed a step, continuing her climb to the very top and hopefully a chance at some gold as well. For Rachel though, it has been trying at times especially against the likes of Jake Starr and Max Kane, for starts as she tries to prove to the world that she does indeed belong in the SCW after a long layoff though for a while she was still wrestling in other promotion but in the last year she decided to live a normal life.

Now she has Katie Steward who is returning from hiatus and will face a very determined and focused Cowgirl. She cannot have a misstep now; she will not falter and instead continue to fight on. Wearing black jeans, rhinestone black cowgirl boots, a black leather halter top, matching jacket and Stetson, her long brunette hair hung down from the back and nails polished a matte cherry. Ready to take on all challengers, the fiery Texan looks at the camera as it begins to record…

 

REC:

 

She takes a second to look around, quite chilly outside as the Cowgirl turn her attention to the camera and begins to speak in her Texan draw….

 

RachelTatumLeeCastPic-RTL“I like this place, it’s pretty but while there are a lot of historical happenings in the Hyde Park, the true fact remainin’ is Rachel Tatum Lee is in England and it is time ta kick off the sumbitch right. It’s been a few years since I have been overseas, the perks of being a wrassler, travelin’ the world and seein’ all the sights and sound can be sometimes overwhelmin’ fer a simple gal like me but that’s part of the game. Fresh outta Under Attack, I went in the ring with one of the best in Jake Starr, I always knew it was gonna be a war. I will admit, I had some personal feelings from way back against Jake that fueled my desire and made me focused on winnin’ that match. Jake Starr though is a legend, and I had said that if I am gonna be considered fer anythin’ I would need to be the best. Now in a way, I still scratch my head, some tell me that I need ta work my way up and then we have Gavin Taylor who’s had two championship matches in a span of maybe two months. I see Derek Adonis and Max Kane getting United states chances as well….

But Rachel, ya gotta earn it?

Alright, I will play along. I may not like the game, but I am tryin’ here ta capitalize on the early successes of my return. Do ya think lastin’ over seventy minutes in Taking Hold of the Flame and finishing a close second is enough? Or maybe wins over Max Kane, Jake Starr and anyone else they put in front of me. Well now, another Hall of Famer and a woman who has done it all, matter of fact she was the big shit when I first started and never wanted ta give me the time of day, that being ya, Katie Steward, the Goddess of wrasslin’. Katie, I never admired ya, I never liked ya, I never thought anythin’ of ya except that in the ring, yer one tough bitch and crafty, ya like ta wrassle, but ya like ta play games. Thing is about ya sugar, I welcome this challenge cause I know ya took some time off, pretty up, let some woulds heal, maybe get some plastic surgery and add on the recovery, whatever the case, suddenly yer comin’ all back fresh as a daisy. See, Katie, ya notice a pattern of the people I am facin’, there are the ones that I have unfinished business with. Do ya remember when ya held the Underground Championship? Ya beat a woman who was also a thorn in my side and got a few lucky shots on me in Harmony Fisher. I was just debuting, when I walked in, ya were the Underground Champion and I said ta myself….

What the fuck is this?

Ya motivated me Katie, see, this goes way back just like Jake Starr. Every single fight that I am in means a lil’ somethin’ and I want ya ta know exactly what it means ta me. I came back ta accomplish the same things ya have Katie. I was stuck in the Underground Division for 405 days, the longest reignin’ champion of it’s kind when the average was only 28 days. I was type casted, I was beatin’ the hell outta people, makin’ them bleed, watchin’ them drop ta their knees beggin’ me fer mercy. Here ya were with TJ Johnson, and yer two little brat rats, runnin’ around like yer shot don’t stink….

I’m gonna prove it does in front of the London faithful when I beat the shit outta ya.”

 

Rachel Tatum Lee doesn’t make empty threats, when she has her eyes set on the prize, she goes for it no matter the cost. Katie steward had been our for a short period of time but now makes her triumphant return and Rachel is about to ruin it. The beautiful cowgirl is back on the SCW and she is stopping at nothing until she gets what she came looking for and if it means destroying a Goddess in the process, so be it. She looks back at the camera and speaks…

 

“Isn’t this the perfect settin’ for this match Katie? I mean yer a Goddess and we are in England, I’m sure that feeds into yer over inflated ego and that’s great, I want ya ta walk inta the ring with all the confidence in the world so I can tear it down and welcome ya back ta the SCW with open arms. Let me explain somethin’ ta ya girl, I didn’t come here ta play, I didn’t walk away from the business and come back ta the SCW where I left in 2015 with a huge sour taste in my mouth. I came ta succeed. I came ta win some gold, make some history and a lil’ money along the way but most of all?

I came here ta prove I am World Championship material like I was in the UWA, like I was in the IWC and here in the company that made me The Violent Kind. Katie, I am having a few issues and maybe ya can help me with those. I have these impulses and when I’m in the ring with someone I do not like, some bad thoughts start ta cloud my brain, then I start thinkin’ of all the different ways that I could hurt ya, make ya scream, but then I come back down to earth and all I wanna do is stick my size 8 Cowgirl boot up that Desirable ass of yers. This is about more than just a match fer me, Katie. This is my road ta immortality, my path ta get what I never was given a chance like so many others which seems at times like I have to work harder than anyone else ta get those opportunities….

And I am okay with that cause ya see Katie, that makes me a better wrassler. I’m not inta the pump and circumstance shit like ya, I don’t wanna make TV shows, movies or have a church that follows me, it seems like every gimmick ya can get yer hands on to push the page and get ya any kind of attention, yer there. Let me tell ya how I get attention. First, I walk out ta the ring and break some bones, faces and asses. I hear them scream….

I got their attention

Then I make em’ bleed, don’t really care how much, but guess what?

I got their attention.

Finally, I fight them fist ta fist, see how tough they are, been doin’ it my entire career. When it is all said and done, I walk out, they are carried out and then?

I got their attention.

Katie, ya wanna compare the SCW like a TV Show that is now cancelled, well if I recall the Goddess in that or “queen” was killed in the end all fer nothin’ cause she went cray-cray. I want ya ta know Katie that what happens tomorrow night ain’t all that personal, I’m just gonna do what I should have done ta ya, 7 years ago when I had the chance. This is MY turn and I might be a late bloomer, I might have gotten a later start but what I bring now, ya have no idea fer I will NOT be victimized anymore, I will not take a back seat to anyone, this is MY show now and if I have ta beat the whole goddamn roster ta face Bree Lancaster, then I WILL DO IT!

So, Katie, welcome back because sugar, yer next.”

 

A smirk comes across the face of Rachel, brushing her hair back and taking off her Stetson. Her baby brown eyes look away for a moment before she finally takes a deep breath and turning her attention back to the camera and speaks….

 

“The more things change, the more they stay the same. I’m walking outta of there a winner, I don’t care what ya got goin; fer ya, I don’t care if ya think this match will be yer celebratory return ta the SCW, cause Katie….

The party never started.

I don’t like ya and I am gonna take out a little frustration in this match and send a clear message ta the entire roster that I am back, that nothin will stop me from achieving; my goal and what better way ta do it then by facing a woman who is held by a high standard, who is revered by the masses, she is the epitome of the SCW and what it has stood for all these years….

And when it is over?

Ya all can watch me giver her an oBITCHuary.

Ashes ta ashes, dust ta dust….

There is only one kind of bitch around here that no one will STOP….

THE VIOLENT KIND!”

 

She slowly backs away and cracks a smirk, before putting her hat back on and staring into the camera….

 

 

FADE TO BLACK

 

/REC

 

Leave a comment